New Arizona Driving Laws
There are new Arizona Driving Laws for 2018. Whether you have been driving one year or 20, motorists must always know the rules of the road.
Arizona driving laws change as time passes and more information is made available on the safety of our roads. For example, it wasn’t until the late 1980s that states began to implement seatbelt laws requiring both adults and children to wear this important safety device.
As cell phone use became more common, states began to introduce laws prohibiting handheld phone usage. Soon, that turned into laws that ban texting while driving. Now, vehicles are getting equipped with even more smart technology that could be helpful but might also be a distraction.
Laws will continue to evolving to ensure the safety of all drivers. That’s why it’s important to stay on top of them or know a lawyer who does.
Arizona Driving Laws in Effect 2018
In 2018, three new laws are in effect across Arizona. Two of the laws affect teen drivers while the other impact anyone with a vehicle.
Arizona Driving Laws Prohibiting Cell Phones
SB 1080 was signed into law in April 2017 by governor Doug Ducey and goes into effect in July. Article 28-3174, section F, prohibits the use of cellphones while driving for the first six months after a teen receives their graduated license or until they reach the age of 18.
If teen drivers are caught using a cellphone, they will receive a ticket for $75 and restrictions on their license for 30 days. The second violation results in a $100 fine and restriction on their license for 60 days. Restrictions run consecutively. If a teen is caught a third time using a cell phone during those first six months, they will be fined $100 and have their license suspended for 30 days. These penalties will help remind teens that their lives and those around them are more important.
Though Arizona teens may not be pleased about these changes, a study by the John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health revealed that states that had implemented similar laws reduced the number of teens crashed by five percent.
Arizona Driving Laws Changings to Driving Permits
The other law affecting teens involves those with a driving permit. Article 28-3154, section C, states that teens with a driving permit cannot use a cellphone while driving. Keep in mind that this law is specific to driver’s permits – although the same law applies to graduated driver’s licenses for the first six months. Additionally, though not new, everyone should be aware that teens with a driving permit should always be accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21. Also, as fun as it might seem to have your teen be a chauffeur, the adult over the age of 21, should be seated in the passenger seat.
Arizona Driving Laws Changings to License Plates
Finally, a new Arizona driving law restricts covering your license plate. Article 28-2354, section D, specifies that all vehicles, including motorcycles, trailers, and semitrailers, must not have any covering or substance on a license plate, such as an electrochromic film, that obscures the license plate. All numbers, characters, year tabs and jurisdiction information should be visible. If a driver violates the law they will be subject to a $30 fine; a second violation within 12 months will cost a driver $100.
It seems fourth time is a charm as this change was shot down by lawmakers in 2004, 2008 and 2010. Many police officers and organizations backed the law. Many feel that these covers are deliberately designed to prevent plates from being photographed and identified. There were also concerns that criminals would be more difficult to find if police officers and witnesses cannot properly reach license plates on vehicles.
Each of these new laws was created to help protect the people of Arizona. Unfortunately, not everyone always follows the rules of the road, making it dangerous for everyone else. If you have been involved in an accident caused by a driver who was speeding, texting while driving, or who broke any other Arizona driving law, you may be entitled to compensation.
Contact me for a free consultation. With more than 20 years of experience, I’m hear to provide you with legal guidance and fight for your rights.