Arizona Accident Report: How to Get Your Accident Report
Whether you have been involved in a minor or major accident, a detailed accident report can help you obtain the compensation you deserve. An accident report will include information such as the number of vehicles, make and model of the vehicle, owner names, intersection where the collision occurred, insurance information, contact information for each driver, and more.
The accident report will be filled out by police after they gather details at the scene of the crash. After an accident, it’s important for all parties to remain calm when providing information. You should not comment on who was at fault, argue with the other drivers or police, or discuss the crash with anyone except your lawyer and law enforcement.
Is an Arizona Accident Report Required?
According to the Arizona State Legislature, the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident that resulted in an injury or death must give notice of the accident immediately. The notice must be provided to the local police department, the office of the county sheriff, or the nearest office of the highway patrol.
It’s a common misconception that after a minor accident, the drivers can simply handle the situation themselves. However, leaving the scene of an accident without reporting could suddenly turn into a hit-and-run if the other driver decides to report the crash on their own. All accidents should be reported, even if it seems like a “minor” fender bender.
How to get an Accident Report for a Highway Accident
If a state trooper investigates your highway accident, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) will have the Arizona accident report. DPS will have 14 days to complete and submit the accident report to the records department.
If you need to request an accident report or photographs from the scene, you’ll need to fill out a “Request Form” and mail it to the records department. The report costs $9 for the first nine pages as of this writing, and the pricing for photos will vary. You can also request the Arizona accident report be emailed or faxed to you.
You can also request the accident report without the official form. A written request must include the driver’s name, date of both, date and time of the crash, the highway where the collision was reported, and the report number (if known). The report number can typically be found in the upper right-hand corner of the sheet provided by officers at the scene. Keep in mind the department only accepts business checks, cashier’s checks or money orders.
Lastly, you can visit the Arizona Department of Public Safety in person to request a copy of the report. Visit the DPS website for full details.
How to Get a Local Report in Arizona
While thousands of accidents happen on Arizona highways, many more occur on local roadways. Local police will fill out accident reports for these incidents. Here’s how you can obtain an accident report in several Arizona cities.
How to get an Accident Report in Phoenix
In Phoenix, you can request a copy by mail or in person at the code enforcement unit of the public records office at the Phoenix police department, located at 1717 E. Grant Street, Suite 100. You can only request a report if there is a relationship with the person involved in the crash.
How to get an Accident Report in Mesa
In Mesa, you can purchase an Arizona accident report online at www.buycrash.com. However, fatal traffic accident reports are not available online. The cost of each report is $5 and requires a Mesa Police Department departmental number and the date of the accident.
How to get an Accident Report in Tempe
If you were involved in an accident in Tempe, you must complete a written request form and drop it off in person or by mail. For up to 20 pages, it is $5. You may also request photographs.
How to get an Accident Report in Scottsdale
Similar to Mesa, the city of Scottsdale partnered with Buycrash, LLC so that you can obtain a police report online. You will need the date of the accident and the departmental report number to purchase your accident report on buycrash.com.
How to get an Accident Report in Glendale
The city of Glendale has partnered with CrashLogic, and you can download the report at https://crashlogic.com.
How to get an Accident Report in Goodyear
If you were involved in a crash in Goodyear, you can visit the Goodyear Police Department’s Records Division during the week. You can request reports at 50 cents per page and can also request photos.
Getting an accident report is important and can help build a strong claim. If you’ve been in an accident, I can help you get the compensation you’re entitled. Contact me today.